Marriage License Requirements

Applying for a Marriage License
Refer to RSMo Chapter 451 for Statutes regarding marriage licenses

Marriage Department
The marriage department is located in the Historical Courthouse on the Square at 102 East Wall Street, Harrisonville, Missouri 64701. Enter the north door, first office on the right.

Office Hours
Office hours are from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Please arrive no later than 4 p.m. so we can process your application prior to closing time.

The law requires the Recorder to obtain the applicant's identity, age and social security number.

Forms of Identification for United States Citizens
Any one of the following forms of identity are acceptable and must not be expired:
  • Certified copy of United States Birth Certificate or government identification card
  • Military identification
  • Missouri identification card
  • Valid driver’s license
Forms of Identification for Foreign Persons
Valid U.S. government documentation must be provided such as:
  • Birth Certificate
  • Driver’s license (U.S) Not expired
  • United States passport with visa or U.S. entry stamp
  • Valid passport
  • Green Card
All documents presented for identification purposes must be either a valid United States government issued document or foreign government issued with a properly acknowledged English translation.

Proper Identification
Every applicant needs to be prepared to present proper identification.

The law requires the recorder to verify the applicant’s identity and age.

You must provide your full social security number.

All parties must appear together at the Recorder's Office.

All parties must have identification showing their age. Driver’s license is acceptable if you are 18 years of age or over.

Purchasing Your License 

You may purchase your license in any county in the State of Missouri and get married in any county in the State of Missouri . Your license will be recorded in the county where your marriage license was purchased. If you purchase your license in this state, you must get married in this state.

A fee of $51.00 “CASH ONLY” is to be paid at the time of application.

Age Requirements
Any applicant aged 15 to 18 must be accompanied by a custodial parent (RSMo 451.090 1). Acceptable identification for applicants would be a birth certificate and valid driver’s license. The custodian giving consent to the marriage should be one of the persons named on the birth certificate. Custodial parents are also required to have proper identification (picture id) and documentation that they are in fact the custodial parent. RSMo 451.090 3.

Under 15 years of age requires a court order. RSMo 451.090 1.

Expiration Date
Your marriage license must be used within 30 days, or it is no longer valid and cannot be used.  You will have to purchase an entirely new license if your original becomes invalid.

The person performing the ceremony has 15 days from the date of the ceremony to return the license to the Recorder of Deeds. RSMo 451.130 2.

Prior Marriages
If either of the applicants have been married before, we will need the month and year your last marriage ended. If your divorce is final, check with your attorney to see if there is a waiting period before applying for your marriage license. The recorders office does not have any requirements regarding waiting periods.

Social Security Name Change
To change your name on your driver’s license and social security card, you can use your original recorded marriage license, or, you may purchase a certified copy of your marriage license which can be purchased at the time of application. The fee for a certified copy is $9.00. If you need to change your insurance benefits, or you need proof of your marriage for military benefits, you will need a certified copy to give to your employer, military, or for social security.

When we return the original license, we will also send your certified copy after processing and recordation of the license is completed.

Call 1-800-772-1213 to get a new social security card.

Voting Identification Name Change
You may change your last name on your voter's identification card here.  If you have any questions please call the County Clerk at 816-380-8106.


Who Can Ma
rry You
RSMo 451.100 Explains who can marry you in the State of Missouri:
Marriages may be solemnized by any clergyman, either active or retired, who is in good standing with any church or synagogue in this state. Marriages may also be solemnized, without compensation, by any judge, including a municipal judge. Marriages may also be solemnized by a religious society, religious institution, or religious organization of this state, according to the regulations and customs of the society, institution or organization, when either party to the marriage to be solemnized is a member of such society, institution or organization.  You may view the list of pastors who have given their names to the Recorder's Office.

NOTICES
As of August 28, 2007 pursuant to State Statute there is no longer a 3-day waiting period to obtain your marriage license. Blood tests are no longer required. Blood relatives may not marry under the laws of the State of Missouri.

For additional information contact the Marriage License Clerk, Joyce Hogue, at  816-380-8121.